Getting to know me – Book Blog Tag

“Many people, myself among them, feel better at the mere sight of a book.”
—  Jane Smiley (Thirteen Ways of Looking at the Novel)

Hi guys,

I hope you’re all doing well!

I know that I only usually post on a Wednesday, Friday and occasionally Monday, but I decided to do an extra blog this weekend because… why not!

As I have quite a few new followers on here and all of my Social Media outlets, I decided that it might be quite fun to do a ‘Get To Know You’ post for those that follow me, but don’t personally know me, and for those that do know me, but are a little bit nosey. I personally love reading other people’s tags like this so I thought that maybe you guys would too.

I’ve taken some inspiration and tag questions from a number of different blogs, all of which are listed and credited below, you should definitely check out their blogs and tag posts too.


I hope you have fun reading this, please feel free to like, share and leave a comment below. You can also copy these questions and do your own answers on your blog or Social Media if you want? I’d love to read them! 🙂

I’m going to tag my fellow book bloggers Sarah, Megs, Courtney, Paige, Fernanda, Lori and any others that I’ve missed out that would still like to do this tag! (Links to their blogs are below if you’d like to check them out)

As always, my Social Media links are below if you’d like to keep up with my posts on there. I post regularly about the blog and other general chit chat.

Enjoy,

Ash


Books: 

Can you stop reading at any time, or does it have to be a certain page or chapter? 
I usually have to stop reading at the end of a page where there’s a full stop and doesn’t carry on to the next page. I do like finishing at the end of a chapter too though.

Do you eat or drink anything whilst reading?
I do like a cup of tea and biscuits if I have any to hand while reading.

Can you read listening to music or watching TV?
I can, but I usually get distracted by the both. I prefer to take a book in the bath with me and relax.

One book at a time, or several at once?
Usually one book at a time. But if the books are completely different genres then I can read a few at a time.

Reading at home or everywhere?
Everywhere. My favourite places to read are in the bath, by the pool, on a beach or in a cosy corner in the house

Reading out loud or silently in your head?
Silently. I don’t particularly enjoy reading out loud!

Do you read ahead, or skip pages?
It depends what the book is. Usually if I’m reading for enjoyment, no. It’s a more informative book I’ll read certain parts that I need. I have read the last page of a few books because I can’t help myself, I’ve always regretted doing that afterwards though!

Breaking the spine or keeping it new?
I’m terrible for this, but breaking the spine. Unfortunately, I’m not that person who can keep a book in an immaculate condition. I love when books look well loved and read though, you know it’s a good book that way!

Do you write books, or just read them?
I mainly read books, I do enjoy writing though. I’d love to have a novel published one day!

5 of my favourite books: (In no particular order – mainly books I read growing up that have stood out to me)
1. Lord Loss (Book 1 in The Demonataseries) – Darren Shan
2. The Hobbit – J. R. R. Tolkien
3. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – J. K. Rowling
4. Secrets – Jacqueline Wilson
5. The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

What is the last book you read?
All That She Can See by Carrie Hope Fletcher (I will be posting a review of this on my blog next week) 🙂


About me: 

Name:

Ashleigh Williams (Ash)

Name meaning:
Ash Tree 

Named after anyone:
No

Hair color:
Brown/blonde highlights, hoping to go fully blonde soon though!

Hair length:
Just below my shoulders

Eye colour:
Dark brown

My birthday:
16th October

Height:
5ft and a quarter of an inch. (Yes, the quarter of an inch really does count when you’re the size of a Hobbit!)

Place of birth:
Wales

Currently Living:
Wales

Star Sign:
Libra

Best feature:
Eyes

Braces:
Never had braces

Piercings:
Yes, 5.

Tattoos:
None yet, I’m planning on having one at the end of the year hopefully though!

Right or Left Handed:
Lefty!

Pets:
Yes, a Cat Maddie (17) and a dwarf hamster called Mr. Noodle (1).
I do have 2 family dogs that don’t live with me too, a Labradoodle (6) called Bailey May and an English Spaniel (4) Poppy.

Siblings:
Yes, one sister, who is 10 🙂

Do you have kids:
No

How many children do you want:
Can’t really see myself having children. But if I did, 1 or maybe 2.

What would you name your children:
Girl – Arwen. Boy – William.

Marriage:
At some point, not soon though.

What did you want to be when you grow up:
I always wanted to be an author, singer (even though I can’t sing), a fashion designer, a marine biologist, vet or archeologist. A wide variety, I know.

Career goals:
Editing or working with animals. Currently doing both part time!

Hobbies:
Reading, writing, blogging, gaming, going to gigs (mainly rock/alt ones), watching TV shows and films, spending time with family and friends

Five random facts about me:
1. I can wiggle my ears (strange I know).
2. I was once on the same plane home from Portugal as the singer Bonnie Tyler.
3. My stepfather is kind of related to Catherine Zeta Jones.
4. I was once on the show Flog It when I was younger.
5. I have spent way too much of my life playing The Sims games on all platforms.


Favourite: 

Five favourite films: (In no particular order)
1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s stone
2. Spider-Man: Homecoming
3. Step Brothers
4. Beauty and the Beast (Animated)
5. Tarzan (Disney Animated)

Five favourite songs: (In no particular order)
1. Sweet Dreams (are made of this) – The Eurythmics, also love the Marilyn Manson version
2. Whatsername – Green Day (The American Idiot – The Musical Version in particular)
3. All I want – A Day To Remember
4. When It’s Time – Green Day
5. Something Beautiful – Robbie Williams

TV shows:
Orange Is The New Black
The Walking Dead
Black Mirror
Game Of Thrones

YouTubers:
Louise Pentland
Anna Saccone
Carrie Hope Fletcher
Giovanna Fletcher
Mrs Meldrum
Precious Stars Pads
Hannah Witton
Melanie Murphy
Zoella
The Real Alex Bertie
Jessie B
Danny Docile (Shoutout to my friend, go subscribe to him)
Dan and Phil
The Sim Supply

Food:
Chinese
Cooked dinner

Drinks:
To go Starbucks Caffe Latte
Cherry Coke
Tango Ice Blasts you get at the cinema (Blue and Red)

Animals:
Cats
Lions
Pretty much all animals apart from spiders

Restaurants:
Nando’s
Prezzo
TGI’s
Chiquito

Shops:
Primark
Waterstones
New Look
Matalan

Perfume:
Brittany Spears Fantasy and Midnight Fantasy

Smells:
Apple and Cinnamon
Cooked dinners
Freshly cut grass
Clean clothes
Anything peach or strawberry flavoured

Colours:
Baby pink
Baby blue

Music genre:
Rock for sure.

Musician:
Gonna take this as bands too.
Green Day and A Day to Remember
(There are many others, but these are my top two).

Sport to watch:
Football/Soccer, gymnastics too


First: 

Holiday:
France, possibly Disneyland Paris.

Concert:
Steps. First rock concert – Fallout Boy

Best friend: 
Natalie, still friends 19 years on too 🙂


Currently: 

Feeling:
Tired

Eating:
Pizza

Watching:
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

Wearing:
PJ’s


Do you: 

Believe in miracles:
Not miracles, but I believe that everything definitely happens for a reason!

Believe in love at first sight:
Potentially? I’m not really sure if you can love someone straight away though, that sort of happens over time.

Believe in ghosts:
No, I don’t think so. More inclined to believe in spirits/demons rather than ghosts, but I think until I see anything, I don’t really know.

Believe in aliens:
Potentially, but I don’t think they’re the same as they’re portrayed in movies. I think if there were aliens, it would be bacteria and other sorts of microbes on different planets.

Believe in soulmates:
Again, I’m not sure. I think you can definitely find someone similar to you on a deeper level, doesn’t even have to be a partner, can just be a friend too. So in that sense yes, but I think you can have multiple “soul” mates, not just the one on Earth, otherwise that would make no sense.

Believe in Heaven/Hell:
Not really sure. The concept is hard for my brain to comprehend. I’d like to think we carry on living as nature? I don’t know, no one does.

Believe in kissing on the first date: 
I don’t see why not? It’s up to the people on the date and how they both feel.

Believe in yourself: 
I’m learning to. More so now than I have before. It’s a working progress. 🙂


What: 

If you won the lottery, what would you buy:
Lamborghini, a trip around the world, a flat in London, multiple holiday apartments around the world, set up my own animal rescue centre.

Your favourite/worst subject in High School:
Favourites – english literature, history and P.E.
Least favourite – maths, chemistry and Welsh

Subject you were best at?
English Literature

Sports do you play/Have you played:
Played a bit of everything but properly Netball, Hockey and Pole Sport.

Phone – (iOS v Android):
IOS – Apple all the way.

Something you wish you were talented at:
Singing for sure!

First thing you notice about people:
Their personality, hair and eyes

On top of your bucket list:
To travel the world, mainly America.

3 long term goals:
Have a successful blog
Write a novel
Travel the world

3 short term goals:
Have another holiday this year
Post at least once a week on this blog
Get into shape!

What are you doing today to help you achieve those goals:
Staying up until 2:15 a.m. filling in this blog post
Working to save up money for a holiday
Not eating junk food.

3 things you’d take with you to a desert island:
A friend to keep me company, a boat so I could get home, plenty of food.

Biggest accomplishment:
Graduating from University.

Ideal first date for you:
Something fun, like going to the beach, a fairground or Laser Quest.

Something you look for in a partner:
Someone trustworthy, funny and who will always be there for me.

Something you dislike:
Anything that’s elderflower flavoured, used to love it, but not anymore!

Special talents:
Not really, I reached level 4 on the violin?

Favourite fairytale:
Can I include Disney movies? If so, Beauty and the Beast.

App you use most:
Currently it’s Twitter, but it used to be Instagram or Snapchat

Piece of technology can you not live without:
My phone probably

Countries have you visited:
England, France, Spain, Portugal, Madeira, Italy, Turkey, Rhodes (Greece)

Countries would you like to visit?
America, Germany, Scotland, Ireland, New Zealand, Iceland, Norway, Netherlands, Japan to name a few.

Most embarrassing memory:
Falling into a big hole in the sand when on holidays and getting completely drenched by the sea in front of quite a few people!


Random final questions:  

Summer or Winter: 
Will have to say Summer, but only when it’s not too warm, but Winter because of the snow and Christmas obviously!

Furthest you’ve ever been from home:
Marmaris, Turkey

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be:
Probably London, would love to live in America too if they had free healthcare!

Sweet or savoury:
Sweet every time!

Last time you cried:
I actually don’t know! Maybe a month ago?

If you were another person, would you be a friend of yourself:
I’d like to think so!

Do you use sarcasm a lot:
All the time

Scary movie or happy endings:
Happy endings

How would you describe your fashion sense:
A bit of everything, pink and girly to alt/rock?

Are you competitive:
Yes, very!

Describe yourself in a single sentence:
Friendly, loving and only sarcastic some of the time.

Who is your role model?:
Roald Dahl, Lady Gaga.

If you could give your younger self any advice what would it be:
Have more confidence in yourself, speak up more and don’t doubt the decisions you want to make! Forget about what anyone else says or thinks, do what you want to do.


Social Media Links: 

For The Love Of Books Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/FTLOBOOKS/
Personal Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/ashleigh.williams.9041

For The Love Of Books Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/_fortheloveofbooks_/
Personal Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/ashleighcanflyy/

For The Love Of Books Twitter – https://twitter.com/FTLOBOOKS
Personal Twitter – https://twitter.com/ashleighcanflyy

Goodreads profile – https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/69229254-ashleigh-williams

Contact me: 
Email – ashleigh-bekkah@hotmail.co.uk

Tagged and shoutout to: 
Sarah – https://bookhookednook.wordpress.com/
Megs – https://betweenthepages13.wordpress.com/
Courtney – https://buriedinabookshelf.wordpress.com/
Paige – https://booksandbelleblog.wordpress.com/
Fernanda – https://thewanderlustreaderofficial.wordpress.com/
Lori – https://majesticreadingblog.wordpress.com/

Credit to: 
Jane Smiley quote – https://www.goodreads.com/quotes/28363-many-people-myself-among-them-feel-better-at-the-mere
Questions – https://thelittlecontemporarycorner.com/2016/08/11/get-to-know-me-book-tag-guest-post/
                   – https://completelybookedblog.wordpress.com/2016/08/03/getting-to-know-me-book-tag/
                   – http://www.albainbookland.com/2014/05/the-book-blogger-get-to-know-me-tag.html
                   – https://www.rootreport.com/get-to-know-me-tag-questions/
                   – https://www.tagquestions.net/get-to-know-me-tag/

4 thoughts on “Getting to know me – Book Blog Tag

Leave a Reply

