Interview with A. H. Richardson – Murder in Little Shendon author

“To would-be writers, I would say ‘hang in there’ and do not [be] discouraged.”A. H. Richardson

21556922_1499212043458006_1312339876_o

Hi there,

Hope you’re all doing well on this fine day! Today’s post is a follow on from my previous post.

I was lucky enough to interview A. H, Richardson, the author of the novel, Murder in Little Shendon that I reviewed in my last post.

I would like to say a HUGE thank you to A. H. Richardson and the company Book Publicity Services, in particular Kelsey Butts for giving me this opportunity.

If you didn’t see in my previous post, I have one physical copy of Murder in Little Shendon to give away, thanks to Book Publicity Services.

Your entry will be valid if you are following both my blog and twitter account. There are also extra entries and daily entries included in the competition if you’re an eager beaver! 🙂

The competition is open internationally so everyone is able to enter and it will end on Sunday 17th September at 4:59p.m. I will be announcing the winner in the week following the competition close date. I will be announcing the winner in the week following the competition close date and will pass on the winner’s information to Book Publicity Services, who will then post the book to you. 🙂

Click here to enter the giveaway!

Good luck and I hope you enjoy the interview,

ash x


Interview:

Hullo Ashleigh, How kind of you to take an interest in my first murder/mystery, and I shall endeavour to answer all your questions as best I can.


What inspired you to write Murder in Little Shendon and were there any authors you took inspiration from? 

It is difficult to give you the inspiration for writing ‘Murder in Little Shendon.  Although I am a Londoner (born and raised in London) I have always had a passion for the little villages and hamlet that dot England, and as a youngster stayed in many of them, where I had cousins and friends of the family and so on. Years ago, my late father, celebrated composer Clive Richardson, had a close friend who ran a little bric-a-brac store which as a child I found endlessly fascinating.  This elderly gentleman always struck me as a bit creepy, and although I am sure that he was probably quite delightful, he always struck my 10 year old mind as … sinister.  When I wrote this book, he was my model for the victim Bartholomew Fynche, and my other characters all grouped around him trying to get into the book too.  Who inspired me?  Oh, that’s an easy one — Agatha Christie, whose books I started reading when I was eleven, and I just adored them.  She was without a doubt, a big influence for me..


Who is your favourite character in the novel and why? 

My most favourite character in this story (and I put her in my other two mysteries) is the colourful and formidable Lady Augusta Armstrong.  I love her because she is strong, wilful, generous, comical on occasions, challenging, eccentric and very very rich – that always helps!


Were any of the characters in the novel inspired by anyone you know? 

 I think I borrowed some of her traits from a very elegant grandmother (on my father’s side)- and a certain Lady Paget who I met years ago, and an actress named Martita Hunt – if you rolled them all up into a bundle you would get Lady Armstrong.


Without giving too much away, what was you favourite scene to write and why? 

I love every scene I write, I really do, so it’s hard to pick a favourite.  I think I enjoyed the opening scene quite a bit, because I hit the ground running, in an effort to catch my reader off guard – it was fun to write.

 

What draws you to this genre of fiction? 

This is not the only genre of book that I write – I am also drawn to fantasy, magic, dragons and wizards -  oh yes, quite definitely.  I also write for the nine to seventeen year olds, and have just completed my third ‘Jorie’ story,’ Jorie and the River of Fire.’  Also I am working on a fourth murder mystery, titled ‘Murder on Baringo Island – ya man!  Murder in a Caribbean paradise! 

 

Do you have any advice for aspiring authors? 

To would-be writers, I would say ‘hang in there’ and do not [be] discouraged.  Pick a subject that you love, that speaks to you, and then … just do it.  Keep your reader engrossed and fascinated, or instructed, or frightened, whatever may be the goal, but put your heart into your work, and then jump in after it.


What is your all time favourite novel? 

My all time favourite novel is ….(drum roll)  Jane Eyre – I adored it as a child, and I still love it – it has all the ingredients to make a fabulous story. 

 

If you could meet any famous person, dead or alive, who would it be and why? 

Who would I like to have met, had I lived in His time … without a doubt, I would love to have met and spoken with Jesus.


If your book was turned into a film, what actor/actress would you most like to play a certain character and why? 

If a film were to be made of this story, then I believe that Pierce Brosnan would make a lovely clean-shaven Sir Victor Hazlitt — ooh!  What a lovely thought. 

I think that Dame Judy Dench would make quite a good Lady Armstrong, and Yes!  I would love to direct it!


Finally, why do you write? What is it about writing a novel that you enjoy the most? 

Why do I write?  Gosh!  The best answer here is because I love it, I feel free when I write, I get inspired, go off to another world, and play with my characters.  But then I have that feeling also when I am painting. 

 

Thank you so much, Ashleigh for listening to my ramblings… 

 The very best to you and yours, 

A.H.Richardson 



Previous post, Murder in Little Shendon Book Review:
https://ashleighbekkah.wordpress.com/2017/09/11/book-review-excerpt-and-giveaway-murder-in-little-shendon-a-h-richardson

Social Media Links:
For The Love Of Books Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/FTLOBOOKS/
Personal Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/ashleigh.williams.9041

For The Love Of Books Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/_fortheloveofbooks_/
Personal Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/ashleighcanflyy/

For The Love Of Books Twitter – https://twitter.com/FTLOBOOKS
Personal Twitter – https://twitter.com/ashleighcanflyy

Goodreads profile – https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/69229254-ashleigh-williamshttps://www.goodreads.com/user/show/69229254-ashleigh-williams


Contact Me:

Email – ashleigh-bekkah@hotmail.co.uk


Credit to:

Book Publicity Services – http://bookpublicityservices.com/
Link to Murder in Little Shendon Book – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Murder-Little-Shendon-H-Richardson-ebook/dp/B014T5QFTG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1505089497&sr=8-1&keywords=murder+in+little+shendon
Murder in Little Shendon Book Giveaway competition – https://gleam.io/competitions/NatTt-murder-in-little-shendon-international-physical-copy-giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ash x



Interview with A.H. Richardson:

Hullo Ashleigh, How kind of you to take an interest in my first murder/mystery, and I shall endeavour to answer all your questions as best I can.


1. What inspired you to write Murder in Little Shendon and were there any authors you took inspiration from?

It is difficult to give you the inspiration for writing ‘Murder in Little Shendon’. Although I am a Londoner (born and raised in London) I have always had a passion for the little villages and hamlet that dot England, and as a youngster stayed in many of them, where I had cousins and friends of the family and so on.

Years ago, my late father, celebrated composer Clive Richardson, had a close friend who ran a little bric-a-brac store which as a child I found endlessly fascinating. This elderly gentleman always struck me as a bit creepy, and although I am sure that he was probably quite delightful, he always struck my 10 year old mind as … sinister. When I wrote this book, he was my model for the victim Bartholomew Fynche, and my other characters all grouped around him trying to get into the book too.

Who inspired me? Oh, that’s an easy one — Agatha Christie, whose books I started reading when I was eleven, and I just adored them. She was without a doubt, a big influence for me.


2. Who is your favourite character in the novel and why?

My most favourite character in this story (and I put her in my other two mysteries) is the colourful and formidable Lady Augusta Armstrong. I love her because she is strong, willful, generous, comical on occasions, challenging, eccentric and very very rich – that always helps!


3. Were any of the characters in the novel inspired by anyone you know?

I think I borrowed some of her traits from a very elegant grandmother (on my father’s side)- and a certain Lady Paget who I met years ago, and an actress named Martita Hunt – if you rolled them all up into a bundle you would get Lady Armstrong.


4. Without giving too much away, what was you favourite scene to write and why?

I love every scene I write, I really do, so it’s hard to pick a favourite. I think I enjoyed the opening scene quite a bit, because I hit the ground running, in an effort to catch my reader off guard – it was fun to write.


5. What draws you to this genre of fiction?

This is not the only genre of book that I write – I am also drawn to fantasy, magic, dragons and wizards – oh yes, quite definitely. I also write for the nine to seventeen year olds, and have just completed my third ‘Jorie’ story,’ Jorie and the River of Fire.’

Also I am working on a fourth murder mystery, titled ‘Murder on Baringo Island – ya man! Murder in a Caribbean paradise!


6. Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

To would-be writers, I would say ‘hang in there’ and do not [be] discouraged. Pick a subject that you love, that speaks to you, and then … just do it. Keep your reader engrossed and fascinated, or instructed, or frightened, whatever may be the goal, but put your heart into your work, and then jump in after it.

7. What is your all time favourite novel?

My all time favourite novel is ….(drum roll) Jane Eyre – I adored it as a child, and I still love it – it has all the ingredients to make a fabulous story.

8. If you could meet any famous person, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

Who would I like to have met, had I lived in His time … without a doubt, I would love to have met and spoken with Jesus.

9. If your book was turned into a film, what actor/actress would you most like to play a certain character and why?

If a film were to be made of this story, then I believe that Pierce Brosnan would make a lovely clean-shaven Sir Victor Hazlitt — ooh! What a lovely thought.

I think that Dame Judy Dench would make quite a good Lady Armstrong, and Yes! I would love to direct it!

10. Finally, why do you write? What is it about writing a novel that you enjoy the most?

Why do I write? Gosh! The best answer here is because I love it, I feel free when I write, I get inspired, go off to another world, and play with my characters. But then I have that feeling also when I am painting.

 

Thank you so much, Ashleigh for listening to my ramblings…

The very best to you and yours,

A.H.Richardson.



Previous post – Murder in Little Shendon review:

Credit to:
Murder in Little Shendon book – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Murder-Little-Shendon-H-Richardson-ebook/dp/B014T5QFTG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1504573382&sr=8-1&keywords=murder+in+little+shendon
Book Publicity Service – http://bookpublicityservices.com/

Social Media Links:
For The Love Of Books Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/FTLOBOOKS/
Personal Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/ashleigh.williams.9041

For The Love Of Books Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/_fortheloveofbooks_/
Personal Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/ashleighcanflyy/

For The Love Of Books Twitter – https://twitter.com/FTLOBOOKS
Personal Twitter – https://twitter.com/ashleighcanflyy

Goodreads profile – https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/69229254-ashleigh-williamshttps://www.goodreads.com/user/show/69229254-ashleigh-williams

Contact Me:
Email – ashleigh-bekkah@hotmail.co.uk

28 thoughts on “Interview with A. H. Richardson – Murder in Little Shendon author

Leave a Reply

