Blog Tour | Where There’s A Will – Beth Corby | #Gifted

Title: Where There’s a Will
Author: Beth Corby
Publication date: May 30th 2019
My rating: ★★★★
Goodreads rating: 4.21
Pages: 336
Genre: Fiction, Contemporary, Romance


I received a #gifted e-arc of this book. Thank you to Hodder Books, Myrto Kalavrezou and of course the author, Beth Corby, for providing me with a copy of this book and asking me to participate in the blog tour.

All views are my own and are not influenced by receiving a copy of this book in any way.


Synopses:

Would you take the chance that could change everything?

After leaving university at the age of twenty-five with no idea what to do with her life, Hannah is stunned when she is left a mystery bequest by her rich, estranged great-uncle Donald.

But there’s a catch: before she can find out what she’s inherited, she must undertake a series of unknown tasks alongside Alec, Donald’s reluctant (but rather gorgeous) PA.

As the tasks progress and she and Alec grow closer, Hannah begins to think that Donald’s real gift might have more to do with love than money . . .

This funny, romantic and uplifting novel is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Cathy Hopkins and Anna Bell.


Overall opinion of the book:

Where There’s a Will was such an interesting book, deeply rooted in nostalgia. The story follows Hannah, a soon to be graduate for the second time, who doesn’t really know what she wants her purpose in life to be. When her great-uncle Donald, a man whom she’s only met once, passes away, he leaves her with a set of tasks to complete. Accompanied by his assistant, Alec, she becomes determined to complete these tasks to find out more about the mysterious Donald and what his reward is for her.

I found Hannah to be such a relatable character. She’s quite reserved compared to the rest of her family and isn’t really sure what she wants in life. At the beginning of the novel she feels obliged to become a teacher, even though this isn’t something she really wants in life. The pressure of family and friends pushes her into this, and I’m sure any humanities graduate can relate to being bombarded with the, “so when are you going to become a teacher then?” comments! Hannah at first seems a little naive but she progresses so much throughout the novel and becomes a self assured and fearless individual.

I particularly enjoyed her and Uncle Donald’s humour, and found myself laughing out loud at so many points in the novel. One part in particular, where Hannah is annoyed and tries to slam the hotel door as a protest in another character’s face was hilarious. The door closes slowly and quietly as most hotel doors do, and the outcome doesn’t quite have the same desired affect. Corby is so clever with the humour used. It never feels forced or over the top. It’s subtle and the comedic timing is perfect. This was definitely one of my favourite aspects of the book.

Hannah’s relationship with her parents and family is quite strained to begin with, and I think a lot of people would be able to relate with this. She doesn’t really hold the same materialistic values as her sister Lauren and cousin, which makes her stand out. Her cousin Nicholas is a particularly horrible character, but her Aunt Betty grew on me as the novel progressed. I particularly loved reading about Hannah’s growing relationship with Donald’s friends and his cook, Mrs Crumpton.

Hannah’s relationship with Alec was a particularly interesting one and developed much more in the second half of the novel. It does deal a little with the enemies become lovers trope, which I’m not personally a fan of, but in a subtler way. While their developing relationship wasn’t my favourite part of the novel, I know many people would love this aspect of it and it was endearing to read.

I loved how nostalgic Where There’s a Will was. It’s deep rooted in Donald’s past and focuses on what the generations before us did for fun. There’s not a big focus on technology, instead the tasks set for Hannah focus on things Donald loved growing up. This was so poignant and heartwarming to read. Some parts reminded me of stories my Great Grandparents would tell me about their childhood. It was also interesting to hear about Donald’s colourful past. The places in which Corby inserted the letters were perfect and moved the story along well. Donald may have been a character that only appears in the story for a few chapters at the beginning, but he’s central to the plot and we get to know him so much throughout the book.

Overall this was a brilliant read and unlike anything I’ve read before. I loved Corby’s writing style and this a fantastic debut novel. While the plot was a little slow to begin with, it quickly becomes action packed and interesting. I grew really fond of both Hannah and Donald, and the ending was perfect.


Final thoughts:

I would certainly recommend this book, it’s interesting and heartwarming to read. Hannah is a great protagonist and Where There’s a Will takes readers on a fantastic journey. It’s well written and absolutely hilarious in parts.

It’s great to read a book set in the 21st Century that isn’t consumed by Social Media or technology. It was intriguing to glimpse into the past and uncover what older generations of people would do for fun. It also emphasises that they may surprise you and lead colourful pasts. The plot focuses on so much, from university, love, family dynamics, blackmailing and heartbreak.

It was also great to read a book where the character is a similar age to me. There doesn’t seem to be an awful lot of books centred around characters in their mid twenties at the moment, so that was an added bonus for me. It’s the perfect read for the summer!


Where There’s a Will is being published digitally on the 30th May 2019 and in paperback on the 19th September 2019.

The Kindle Edition is only £2.99, which really is a bargain! If you’d like to purchase a copy, you can do so here:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Where-Theres-Will-uplifting-romantic/dp/1473699495/ref=nodl_


I hope you enjoyed this blog tour post. For more reviews and information about this book, don’t forget to check out the other stops on this blog tour. They’re written by some brilliant bloggers. 😊

Have you read Where There’s a Will? What were your thoughts on it? Let me know in the comments below. 😊


Follow me:

For The Love Of Books Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/FTLOBOOKS/

Personal Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/ashleigh.williams.9041

For The Love Of Books Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/FTLOBOOKS

Personal Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/ashleighcanflyy/

For The Love Of Books Twitter – https://twitter.com/FTLOBOOKS

Personal Twitter – https://twitter.com/ashleighcanflyy

Goodreads profile – https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/69229254-ashleigh-williams

Contact me:

Email – ashleigh-bekkah@hotmail.co.uk

Credit to:
Hodder
Beth Corby

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “Blog Tour | Where There’s A Will – Beth Corby | #Gifted

  1. bookloverkate says:

    The whole forced together by challenges left in a will sounds slightly unrealistic but totally adorable too!! Sounds like a fun and light read 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s